Our History

John Watson School was founded in 1966 and is named after Dr John Watson, a much-respected Medical Officer who championed quality special needs provision in Oxfordshire.

In the early 1980s the school began offering inclusion opportunities with the schools in the village.

In September 1993 Wheatley Nursery School first opened. It has continued the unique arrangement of sharing one headteacher across both schools.There are close links with this very special integrated provision.

The school logo represents the close relationships that have been established over time with the three partner schools with whom we share sites: Wheatley Nursery School, Wheatley Primary School and Wheatley Park School.

In 2007 our purpose built Secondary Department opened at the heart of the Wheatley Park Campus. It is named after Steve Drywood, an ex-deputy headteacher at Wheatley Park School and a governor at John Watson School.

In 2008 the Sixth Form opened with the aim of offering young people clear pathways into college and other provisions as they make the transition to adulthood.

In September 2013 Stephen Passey became only the fourth headteacher to lead John Watson School in its history.

In June 2014 John Watson formed a Federation with Wheatley Nursery School. They share a single governing body.

Comments are closed.